GTA 6, answered

Which GTA 6 editions are there?

Short answer

Two editions of the game. The standard edition at $79.99 and the Ultimate Edition at $99.99. The $399.99 Goodtime State – Vice City Collection that Rockstar put on sale on 24 September 2026 is a box of merchandise, not a third edition: the game is sold separately.

Sources last checked 28 September 2026

Leer esta página en español

GTA 6 has two editions, standard at $79.99 and Ultimate at $99.99, sold in two formats, and neither box contains a disc. The difference between the editions is sixteen items long on Rockstar’s own product page; the difference between the formats is the one that will actually affect you.

The four ways to buy GTA 6
What you are comparingStandard, digitalStandard, boxedUltimate, digitalUltimate, boxed
Price (US)$79.99$79.99$99.99$99.99
What you getThe game.The game.The game, plus sixteen items Rockstar lists on its product page: five vehicles, a Ganado build, a classic car collection, revolvers and engraved pistols, outfits, and six shops and places.The game, plus sixteen items Rockstar lists on its product page: five vehicles, a Ganado build, a classic car collection, revolvers and engraved pistols, outfits, and six shops and places.
What arrivesA download.A box with a download code inside. No disc.A download.A box with a download code inside. No disc.
When you can play119 November 202619 November 202619 November 202619 November 2026
Pre-load from 12 NovemberYes, with a pre-order.Not stated.Yes, with a pre-order.Not stated.
Vintage Vice City Pack2Yes, buying before 20 November.Yes, buying before 20 November.Yes, buying before 20 November.Yes, buying before 20 November.
Free month of GTA+3Yes, on a digital pre-order.No.Yes, on a digital pre-order.No.
Can you lend or resell it4No.The sealed box, yes. Once the code is redeemed, no.No.The sealed box, yes. Once the code is redeemed, no.
Locked to a platformYes — PS5 or Xbox Series X|S, pick at purchase.Yes — PS5 or Xbox Series X|S, pick at purchase.Yes — PS5 or Xbox Series X|S, pick at purchase.Yes — PS5 or Xbox Series X|S, pick at purchase.
  1. The box is on shelves from 12 November, but Rockstar has not said the code inside unlocks before release day, and nothing suggests it does. ↑
  2. Not a pre-order exclusive: Rockstar's wording covers every purchase made before 20 November, which is the day after release. ↑
  3. Redeemable in GTA Online — the one attached to Grand Theft Auto V. It says nothing about a GTA 6 online mode. ↑
  4. This is the practical consequence of there being no disc, and it is the same for both editions. ↑

What this table cannot tell you

  • How many cars the Ultimate Edition's Classic Car Collection holds, and where its shops and places are on the map.
  • Whether the Ultimate content is ever sold separately.
  • Prices in any currency other than the US dollar.
  • Whether a collector's edition of the game appears. The $399.99 Goodtime State box Rockstar put on sale on 24 September 2026 is merchandise, with the game sold separately.

Source: Take-Two Interactive — Rockstar Games Announces Pre-Orders for Grand Theft Auto VI · Rockstar Games — Grand Theft Auto VI · Rockstar Games — Grand Theft Auto VI, edition comparison · Rockstar Newswire — Pre-Order Grand Theft Auto VI on June 25

What Rockstar has said is in the Ultimate Edition

Take-Two’s words, in the pre-order announcement of 24 June 2026: “an exclusive collection of premium vehicles, weapons, apparel, and action threaded across all aspects of Jason and Lucia’s story”. Rockstar’s own product page puts it more briefly: “An exclusive collection of items threaded across all aspects of Jason and Lucia’s story.”

Below that sentence, the edition comparison on the same page lists sixteen items that only the Ultimate Edition carries, each with a line of Rockstar’s own description and a set of studio renders; we read it on 28 September 2026. Until then this page said that no item had been named anywhere, which was wrong: we had read the heading and not the list under it. The list, in Rockstar’s order:

  • ’95 Grotti Cheetah, Grotti’s signature mid ’90s sports car and ode to Shore Drive (our page).
  • Hawk & Little Morgan Revolvers, His and hers versions of this powerful revolver with classic Vice City stylings sourced from the Vercetti Estate.
  • Personalized Weapon Variants: engravings for Jason’s Girardi ES9 pistol and Lucia’s Klose K17 pistol.
  • Vice City Style: exclusive outfits, tattoos and more for both of them.
  • Jason’s Safehouse Vehicles: an Army fatigue-tinged Dinka Enduro motorcycle or Crest Kayak (Enduro, kayak).
  • Ganado Retro Build: mods for Jason’s Vapid Ganado.
  • Rideout Customs Mod Shop, detailed interiors, exquisite rims, and donk stylings (our page).
  • Sara’s Unisex Salon: salon styles for both, facial hair for Jason and makeup and nails for Lucia (our page).
  • Shitzu Squalo, a boat docked at Washington Beach with an explosives-laden weapons crate (our page).
  • Stock 305 Clothing Store, Stockyard’s premier destination for elevated streetwear.
  • ’67 Vapid Dominator Buggy, A Mud Club monster, with the Paradise Garage in Watson Bay to keep it in (our page).
  • Electric Fang Tattoo Parlor, Stockyard’s most iconic ink bar, its tattoos designed by the artist collective FAILE (our page).
  • One-Eyed Willie’s Mod Shop, This mod shop in Lake Leonida specializes in off-road modifications and hand-painted automotive artistry.
  • Goodtime Gear, A capsule collection of apparel and accessories inspired by the Goodtime State’s hit TV show character, Macca the Gator.
  • PTT Youngin$ Illegal Goods Store: Raid the compound of one of Southside Vice City’s loudest and most socially active gangs and escape safely to score some special items and distinct contraband (our page).
  • Classic Car Collection: abandoned classic and project cars to find and restore for eccentric collector and local fixer, Wyman (Wyman’s).

Four of the places, Sara’s, Stock 305, Electric Fang and One-Eyed Willie’s, are in Rockstar’s words only open for business with the Ultimate Edition. The same items are in the Ultimate Edition Benefits download on Rockstar’s media page, 51 images as of 23 September 2026, and which vehicles come with the Ultimate Edition puts the vehicles side by side, with the ’55 Vapid Stanier from the separate Vintage Vice City Pack.

The twenty dollars

The standard edition is $79.99 and the Ultimate Edition $99.99 in the United States, in Take-Two’s announcement, on both consoles. Nothing in that announcement or on the product page gives the Ultimate Edition an earlier start, a different pre-load date or a different bonus: the Vintage Vice City Pack goes to every purchase before 20 November 2026 and the month of GTA+ to every digital pre-order, whichever edition. So the twenty dollars buys the sixteen items above, and nothing about timing. What GTA 6 costs has the rest, including why you may be seeing other numbers.

The $399.99 box is not a third edition

On 24 September 2026 Rockstar put Grand Theft Auto VI: The Goodtime State – Vice City Collection up for pre-order in its own store at $399.99. Some coverage calls it a collector’s edition. It is not an edition of the game, and the store page says so plainly: “Grand Theft Auto VI game sold separately.” What the box holds is merchandise built around Macca the Gator, a TV show inside the game: a Macca figure, Oakley sunglasses, a New Era cap, a crossbody bag, a magnetic mirror, a shot glass, a swizzle spoon, a keychain, enamel pins, stickers and a double-sided poster with a full map of Leonida on the back. Kotaku reports that it arrives on 19 November, the same day as the game; the store page gives no date. The map on that poster is on the map page.

So the count stays at two editions of the game, and one box that sits next to either of them.

The disc question

The physical version is out on 12 November 2026, a week before the digital release, and it contains a download code in the box, not a disc. That is Take-Two’s own description and not a rumour; the physical copy page has the rest.

It is the single most consequential detail on this page. A physical copy will not install from the box, still needs the full download, and stops being resellable the moment the code is redeemed. The earlier release date buys you the box on the shelf, not the game a week early: Rockstar has not said the code unlocks before 19 November, and nothing suggests it does.

Buying before 20 November is the deadline that matters

The Vintage Vice City Pack is not a pre-order exclusive. Take-Two’s wording covers “all Grand Theft Auto VI pre-orders and purchases before November 20, 2026”, the day after release. So pre-ordering a digital copy gets you two things over buying it on launch day: the free month of GTA+, which the US PlayStation Store says must be redeemed by 31 March 2027 and renews monthly, and pre-loading from 12 November so the game is on your drive when your region unlocks it. Whether that is worth committing money months early is your call. See the pre-order page for where to buy it.

Where this comes from

Every claim above rests on one of these. Anything marked the platform holder is Sony or Microsoft describing their own store or hardware, not Rockstar. Anything marked reported is somebody else telling us what Rockstar said, and is treated as weaker than Rockstar saying it.

  1. Take-Two Interactive — Rockstar Games Announces Pre-Orders for Grand Theft Auto VI 2026-06-24 the publisher itself
  2. Rockstar Newswire — Pre-Order Grand Theft Auto VI on June 25 2026-06-24 the publisher itself
  3. Rockstar Games — Grand Theft Auto VI the publisher itself
  4. Rockstar Games — Grand Theft Auto VI, edition comparison 2026-09-28 the publisher itself
  5. Rockstar Games — Grand Theft Auto VI, media downloads the publisher itself
  6. PlayStation Store — Grand Theft Auto VI (US listing) the platform holder
  7. Rockstar Store — Grand Theft Auto VI: The Goodtime State – Vice City Collection the publisher itself
  8. Rockstar Newswire — Pre-Order The Goodtime State – Vice City Collection Now While Supplies Last 2026-09-24 the publisher itself
  9. Kotaku — Rockstar reveals $400 special edition of Grand Theft Auto 6 2026-09-24 reported