GTA 6, answered

Which GTA 6 editions are there?

Short answer

Two. The standard edition at $79.99 and the Ultimate Edition at $99.99. Rockstar has announced no collector's edition and no third tier.

Sources last checked 15 September 2026

Two editions and two formats, so four ways to buy it. The difference between the editions is one sentence long in the official record; the difference between the formats is the one that will actually affect you, because neither box contains a disc.

The four ways to buy GTA 6
What you are comparingStandard, digitalStandard, boxedUltimate, digitalUltimate, boxed
Price (US)$79.99$79.99$99.99$99.99
What you getThe game.The game.The game, plus "an exclusive collection of premium vehicles, weapons, apparel" — never itemised.The game, plus "an exclusive collection of premium vehicles, weapons, apparel" — never itemised.
What arrivesA download.A box with a download code inside. No disc.A download.A box with a download code inside. No disc.
When you can play119 November 202619 November 202619 November 202619 November 2026
Pre-load from 12 NovemberYes, with a pre-order.Not stated.Yes, with a pre-order.Not stated.
Vintage Vice City Pack2Yes, buying before 20 November.Yes, buying before 20 November.Yes, buying before 20 November.Yes, buying before 20 November.
Free month of GTA+3Yes, on a digital pre-order.No.Yes, on a digital pre-order.No.
Can you lend or resell it4No.The sealed box, yes. Once the code is redeemed, no.No.The sealed box, yes. Once the code is redeemed, no.
Locked to a platformYes — PS5 or Xbox Series X|S, pick at purchase.Yes — PS5 or Xbox Series X|S, pick at purchase.Yes — PS5 or Xbox Series X|S, pick at purchase.Yes — PS5 or Xbox Series X|S, pick at purchase.
  1. The box is on shelves from 12 November, but Rockstar has not said the code inside unlocks before release day, and nothing suggests it does.
  2. Not a pre-order exclusive: Rockstar's wording covers every purchase made before 20 November, which is the day after release.
  3. Redeemable in GTA Online — the one attached to Grand Theft Auto V. It says nothing about a GTA 6 online mode.
  4. This is the practical consequence of there being no disc, and it is the same for both editions.

What this table cannot tell you

  • What is actually in the Ultimate Edition. Two sentences of description, not one named item.
  • Whether the Ultimate content is ever sold separately.
  • Prices in any currency other than the US dollar.
  • Whether a collector's edition still appears. None has been announced.

Source: Take-Two Interactive — Rockstar Games Announces Pre-Orders for Grand Theft Auto VI · Rockstar Games — Grand Theft Auto VI · Rockstar Newswire — Pre-Order Grand Theft Auto VI on June 25

What Rockstar has said is in the Ultimate Edition

Take-Two’s words: “an exclusive collection of premium vehicles, weapons, apparel”. Rockstar’s own product page puts it differently: “An exclusive collection of items threaded across all aspects of Jason and Lucia’s story.”

That is everything. Not one vehicle, weapon or item has been named. If you find a page listing what is in the Ultimate Edition, it is either quoting those two sentences back at you or making it up.

Which is a shame, because a named vehicle would go straight into the vehicle database with a source against it, and the moment one is named it will.

The disc question

The physical version is out on 12 November 2026, a week before the digital release, and it contains a download code in the box, not a disc. That is Take-Two’s own description and not a rumour.

It is the single most consequential detail on this page. A physical copy will not install from the box, still needs the full download, and stops being resellable the moment the code is redeemed. The earlier release date buys you the box on the shelf, not the game a week early: Rockstar has not said the code unlocks before 19 November, and nothing suggests it does.

Buying before 20 November is the deadline that matters

The Vintage Vice City Pack is not a pre-order exclusive. Rockstar’s wording covers every purchase made before 20 November 2026 — the day after release. So pre-ordering a digital copy gets you two things over buying it on launch day: the free month of GTA+, and pre-loading from 12 November so the game is on your drive when it unlocks. Whether that is worth committing money months early is your call. See the pre-order page for where to buy it.

Where this comes from

Every claim above rests on one of these. Anything marked reported is somebody else telling us what Rockstar said, and is treated as weaker than Rockstar saying it.

  1. Take-Two Interactive — Rockstar Games Announces Pre-Orders for Grand Theft Auto VI 2026-06-24 the publisher itself Het persbericht aan beleggers. Dit is de enige primaire bron die de bedragen noemt; de Newswire-post doet dat niet.
  2. Rockstar Newswire — Pre-Order Grand Theft Auto VI on June 25 2026-06-24 the publisher itself
  3. Rockstar Games — Grand Theft Auto VI the publisher itself De productpagina. Draagt de releasedatum, de platforms en de pre-orderknoppen.